Thursday, February 7, 2013

The World for a Shilling ~ a Winter 2013 BBF


Click Here To Browse!!
Let's blast things off for the fair with this great giveaway for Neverlove, my YA novel with paranormal, action and romantic elements woven throughout. Please do enter to win and make sure to tell a friend and they can tell a friend too :-)

Goodreads Book Giveaway

NEVERLOVE by Angela     Brown

NEVERLOVE

by Angela Brown

Giveaway ends February 28, 2013.
See the giveaway details at Goodreads.
Enter to win


Now I simply must spread the word about an author in the genre that first got me really ecstatic about reading: FANTASY!!

And you can get your free book of Lichgates (Grimoire Saga #1), a Young Adult Fantasy Adventure by S. M. Boyce.

Hey beautiful people! You should really check out Lichgates (Grimoire Saga #1). Fans of  The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and Eragon should really enjoy this modern twist on the classic epic fantasy genre. This is a unique tale with a lot of imagery to it. An excerpt is below.
Treason (Grimoire Saga #2) is already out, and books 3 & 4 are scheduled to release in the next two years.

Lichgates (Grimoire Saga #1)

Book Description
Now an international Amazon bestseller. Fans of The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and Eragon will enjoy this contemporary remix of the classic epic fantasy genre.
----------------
Kara Magari is about to discover a beautiful world full of terrifying things--Ourea.

Kara, a college student still reeling from her mother's recent death, has no idea the hidden world of Ourea even exists until a freak storm traps her in a sunken library. With no way out, she opens an ancient book of magic called the Grimoire and unwittingly becomes its master, which means Kara now wields the cursed book's untamed power. Discovered by Ourea's royalty, she becomes an unwilling pawn in a generations-old conflict--a war intensified by her arrival. In this world of chilling creatures and betrayal, Kara shouldn't trust anyone... but she's being hunted and can't survive on her own. She drops her guard when Braeden, a native soldier with a dark secret, vows to keep her safe. And though she doesn't know it, her growing attraction to him may just be her undoing.

For twelve years, Braeden Drakonin has lived a lie. The Grimoire is his one chance at redemption, and it lands in his lap when Kara Magari comes into his life. Though he begins to care for this human girl, there is something he wants more. He wants the Grimoire.

Welcome to Ourea, where only the cunning survive.


Get Your FREE Copy Now:


An Excerpt from Lichgates (Grimoire Saga #1)

Thunder rumbled over Kara Magari’s head. A dark cloud churned in the sky, and her heart fell into her stomach.
She needed shelter.
A blinding bolt of moss-colored lightning flashed, striking the ground nearby. The hairs on her arms stood on end. Heat coursed through her calves, and she caught her breath. Her ears rang.
Wait. Was that lightning green?
The cliff trembled as a boom shattered the air. It began to rain. The heavy drops pelted her skin and clung to her hair as another rumble coursed along the far edge of the valley. She needed shelter, and the last place she would go in a lightning storm was up a hill.
She turned back and twisted the door’s handle, sighing with relief as it openedunlocked. Still, as wet as it was outside and as much as she wanted a safe place to wait out the rain, she lingered on the threshold to examine the room.
Mud covered everything from the floor to the ceiling. Since there weren’t any supports to hold the roof, she couldn’t figure out how the ten-by-ten dirt shelter hadn’t caved in yet. The air within was heavy, moist with the rot of dead leaves, and her only guiding light streamed in from behind her. Roots dangled from the ceiling like stalactites reaching for the floor. The wind picked up, howling as it pelted rain against her back.
Kara tested the ground with her sneaker. The dirt floor supported her weight, so she tip-toed into the room and left the door open. Rain fell in lingering drops on the threshold before it disappeared into the growing pools of mud. She stuck her hands in her pockets and watched the raging storm outside.
A flash of dark brown blurred past her.
She jumped. A tan flicker snaked along the roof, and clumps of soil fell in sheets. She glared at the ceiling, holding her breath as the settling dust rained onto her shoes.
It had almost looked like a root moving, but that—that was crazy.
Another streak of motion raced down the opposite wall. It passed through a shaft of light, and Kara saw its pointed, wooden tip. Tiny veins sprouted from it like hairs, digging into the dirt so that it could travel.
It was a root moving.
A second spiny vine shot up from the floor and wrapped itself around her leg. It pulled. She tripped, falling into the first root as it snaked along the far wall. Dirt poured over her head, blinding her. The scent of decaying bark made her cough. The root tugged again, and she was yanked onto her hands and knees. It dragged her towards the center of the room.
A third root wrapped around her waist, and another grabbed her hand as she reached for the blade. The roots flipped her onto her back. With a bang, the door snapped shut. Her stomach churned. The floor disappeared. She fell, and the roots let go.

Get Your FREE Copy Now:


About S.M. Boyce

Published fantasy author. Twitter addict. Book Blogger. Geek. Sarcastic. Gooey. Odd. Author of the action-packed Grimoire Saga.
S.M. Boyce is a fiction novelist who loves ghosts, magic, and spooky things. She prefers loose-leaf tea, reads far too many books, and is always cold. She’s married to her soul mate and couldn’t be happier. Her B.A. in Creative Writing qualifies her to serve you french fries.
Boyce likes to update her blog a few times each week so that you have something to wake you up in the morning.

Connect with S.M. Boyce

7 comments:

  1. Ooh, this sounds awesome. Thanks for sharing about it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad to! It's been a great experience and the coordinator, Kayla Curry, has been great :-)

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. I agree. S.M. sounds very cool and Lichgates is definitely on my TBR :-)

      Delete
  3. Sounds really cool! I like the cover, too!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks for the heads up about those books - I'm off to download Lichgates! All these sound great. :)

    ReplyDelete

Talk to me :-)
Comments are welcome.